First glance into Japanese Culture

Probably my earliest impressions of Japan should include most of the architecture of Kansai International Airport, or perhaps the kindness of Japanese people; but this “Tonakatsu Seasonal” seamed more appealing to me. Its description was “Deep fried bread crumbed seasons in roll pork loin”.

I arrived in Japan at 11:30 am, after a long (27 hrs) trip. I was really tired and I really looked exhausted. Once I saw KG’s staff, I felt relieved. I will never forget one of the first things they told me. “Go take a bath.” I thought he had some trouble with his English, but apparently he was right, I needed to take a shower. Since I had to wait 4 hours for our bus to come, I just went to the 2ndfloor to go online and let my relatives know I arrived safely. Then I looked for any “Shower Service” in KIX Airport. They actually had a lounge to relax, where you could take a shower, a nap, play some videogames, watch a movie, and plenty other things. I am not that confident with my Japanese, but I managed to take a shower for just 500¥. Everyone was so nice to me. I felt really safe with all their hospitality.

I was too hungry so I went to the 4th floor to put my luggage in storage. Then, I went down to the 3rd floor, where you can find all the restaurants and shops. That’s when I found “KYK” restaurant. Their logo is a cute pig. I ordered theTonakatsu Seasonal for 1,150 ¥. I could have all the rice, salad and miso soup I could eat. It was a very good first meal in Japan, which surprised me a lot, since I thought I be eating raw fish, white rice and seaweed. I think I was having this stereotypical fear of Japanese food. They proved me wrong. 

About caroarai

Hey! You can call me Caro. I am a Visual Information Designer. I am currently taking a certificate in New Media Design and Web Development at BCIT. I like to cook and bake, but if you can't find me in the kitchen, I might be out on a hike. If not, I'm probably doodling or re-watching tv shows.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to First glance into Japanese Culture

  1. visual_gonthros says:

    Usually an airport really doesn’t represent the country or culture where it is located, but I think there is something special about KIX. Food is a good way to experience the culture early on – I am glad that you are seeing there is more to Japanese food than sushi and rice. (I like the KYK shop at the airport, too.)

    You are off to a good start with your blog. Looking forward to future posts.

Leave a comment